Power of Metal.dk Review

New Device
Here We Stand
Style: Hard Rock
Release date: 6 May, 2013
Playing time: 41:15

'Here We Stand' contains eleven British hard rock tunes wrapped in pop/radio friendly velvet paper such as bands like Bullet For My Valentine, Funeral For A Friend and My Chemical Romance. New Device is the band's name. The group was formed in London in 2007 and released their debut album 'Takin' Over' the year after. Five long years have passed and 'Here We Stand' is the difficult follow-up album. The album do not challenge my technical musical nerves or so, but it has big doses of positive energy in the songs, which I find very pleasant and they also have an extremely talented vocalist.

The album kicks my butt immediately with the brilliant and groovy title track 'Here We Stand' with strong vocal performance and heavy riffs. The up-tempo song 'Away From Here' has more cheerful surface and shinier guitar chords. 'On Your Knees' is a half progressive rock song with darker attitude than the previous songs and is one of the better songs on the album.

They camouflage the beginning of 'Do or Die' as a peaceful and sleepy ballad, but turning it into a blazing song with dazzling guitars and a high energetic finish. 'Feel the Wrath' is a party song with a high speed tempo and has a high testosterone chorus. If I compare this album with 'Takin' over' it's hard to tell the difference. A mix of calm and elegant rock ballads with clear beautiful vocals, the mid-tempo progressive songs with more aggressive singing and the high octane full-speed tracks is very appealing even for an old conservative rock head like me. 'Save Your Life' is another dazzling track with superb guitars and shimmering vocals, and it is another song I have to mention.

In 'Waiting for a Deadman' they really hit the right buttons and it is a power track in my taste. 'Wreckage of Me' is also a big song with brilliant vocals and heavy guitars and solid support from the rhythm section.

I found a few songs that didn't take hold on my soul or got into my thick head, but if you already are fan of New Device or likes modern hard rock, then this is absolutely something you need to check out...

Band Members:
Daniel Leigh
Roz Ison
Nick Jones
Matt Mallery
Nick Hughes

01. Here We Stand
Away From Here
New York
On Your Knees
Do Or Die
Another Life
Feel The Wrath
Save Your Life
Waiting For A Deadman
Wreckage Of Me
11. End Of Hope
Label: Southworld Recordings
Distribution: Plastic Head Music
Artwork rating: 75/100
Reviewed by: Patrik Skoglund
Date: 17 April, 2013
Website: www.newdevice.co.uk