Power of Metal.dk Review

Ours is the Storm
Style: Melodic Death Metalcore
Release date: 1 March, 2013
Playing time: 44:28

With their sixth album in 10 years of existence you can conclude that Neaera are a busy band. Especially if you take into consideration that they released their debut in 2005. The Germans are especially popular in their home-country, but their music is of a quality so that they can compete with most of the bands in this genre. Swedish Melodic Metal with a big metalcore sauce and black metal influences, that's what they serve us.

The vocals of Benjamin Hilleke are a mix of screaming and mid-range growling, which can get a little boring after a while, but I don't have a problem with that. There are three highlights for me on this album: "Ascend to Chaos", which is a track with very fast black metal parts and mid-tempo melodic riffing. The second one is "Black Tomb", a nice blend of black and death metal. Especially the variation in the track and the heavy riffs impose me. The best song however is "Slaying the Wolf Within", a real death metal monster with heavy riffs, grunting vocals and with guest vocals of Nathan Gray (Boy Sets Fire). This is the level Neaera should reach with every track, then nothing can stop them. The album has an overall massive sound and besides the good guitar riffs, the drumming of Sebastion Heldt has to be mentioned, he fills in every empty space.

This sixth album is where Neaera stands for at the moment and that is highly skilled melodic death metalcore, which is a mixture of In Flames, At the Gates, Heaven Shall Burn, Caliban and As I Lay Dying. Fans know what to do...

01. The Deafening
02. Ours is the Storm
03. Decolonize the Mind
04. Through Treacherous Flames
05. Ascend to Chaos
06. Walk with Fire
07. My Night is Starless
08. Black Tomb
09. Between Us and Annihilation
10. Slaying the Wolf Within
11. Back to the Soul
12. Guardian of Ashes
Label: Metal Blade Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 3 March, 2013
Website: www.neaera.com