Power of Metal.dk Review

Mastic Scum
Style: Death Metal
Release date: 6 December, 2013
Playing time: 44:11

This is the fifth album by Austrian death/grindcore band Mastic Scum. Every album has a 4 letter word title (No, not yet one named F*ck). After 'ZERO', 'SCAR', 'MIND' and 2009 album 'DUST', here is 'CTRL'.

In 2009 colleague Peter Laursen rewarded their 'DUST' album with 88 points. Well, as you can see above, I am a little bit less enthusiastic, but nevertheless a nice score if you ask me. From the first till the last song you here a mix of death metal, grindcore, a little hardcore influences and industrial parts. Blast beats, grooving riffs and industrial sounds bring variety into their music. If you can imagine a mix of Napalm Death with Fear Factory, you are very close. On top of that the production is very good and if Tue Madsen is responsible for the mastering, so that part can't be wrong either. The vocals are harsh/grunting ones with an occasional scream like in "Perceptive Illusion". Another part that helps to make this a good album is that the band wrote songs with a certain groove and not just up-tempo from start to finish.

Fans of their 2009 album will like this one also, but they have to reckon with (and accept) some more industrial (read Fear Factory) elements in the music.

01. Controlled Collapse
02. Dehumanized
03. Cause & Effect
04. Brute-Force Methode
05. D1s3mbod1m3nt
06. Rebornation
07. Perceptive Illusion
08. Hyper-Detection 2.0
09. Create-Negate
10. The Vorted Within
11. Resurrection
Label: Massacre Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 15 December, 2013
Website: www.masticscum.com