Power of Metal.dk Review

Lingua Mortis Orchestra
Style: Symphonic Metal
Release date: 2 August, 2013
Playing time: 65:35

It's not like it's the first time Victor Smolski has been flirting with classical music, and the Rage trio has chosen to release this album under the Lingua Mortis Orchestra banner. The Rage references are all over this album; from Peavy's easily recognizable vocals, Smolski's signature guitar work, the basic sound and even the cover artist: Felipe Machado.

But this is so much more than just a Rage side project, this is a full blown project, just like Trans-Siberian Orchestra was to Savatage. Whether or not LMO will overtake the main band like TSO did for Savatage remains to be seen. But the signs are good, even though the overall sound might be a tad too heavy to attract the same mainstream audience that TSO is able to.

But enough speculations; what matters is the music. And the music is strong, versatile and a perfect symbiosis of classical and metal elements. Yes, Victor Smolski has found the perfect balance between the two, and has written an album that surely smells like a modern classic.

Lingua Mortis Orchestra kicks the album off with the most complete and in my opinion strongest song on the album "Cleansed by Fire", after a strong start the quality drops a little bit, and they are never reaching the same sphere again, "Witches' Judge" and "Afterglow" are almost there. But no need to worry; the remaining new songs are well written, produced and performed, and are a pleasure to listen to. The new versions of "Straight to Hell" and "One More Time" (both from 'Welcome to the Other Side' album), fit the rest very well.

Not your normal metal album; an album that easily stands out in a crowd. A must buy for any Rage fans go without saying!

Well done!

01. Cleansed by Fire (10:37)
 a) Convert the Pagans PT. 1
 b) The Inquisition (Instrumental)
 c) Convert the Pagans PT. 2

02. Scapegoat (7:07)
03. The Devil's Bride (6:11)
04. Lament (6:20)
05. Oremus (2:17)
06. Witches' Judge (6:15)
07. Eye for an Eye (9:49)
08. Afterglow (6:03)
09. Straight to Hell (4:05)
10. One More Time (6:51)
Label: Nuclear Blast
Distribution: Sony Music (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Kenn Jensen
Date: 19 July, 2013
Website: Lingua Mortis Orchestra