Power of Metal.dk Review

Leaves' Eyes
Symphonies of the Night
Style: Melodic gothic Symphonic Metal
Release date: 15 November, 2013
Playing time: 52:52

Five albums in 10 years is an average a lot of bands are not capable of. Leaves' Eyes is able to do that and fortunately without loss in quality. In contrary, this is even their best album to date. Liv Kristine, Thorsten Bauer and Alexander Krull are still the most important members and are responsible for the songwriting.

Again you can expect songs with classic traditional Keltic and folk influences, big orchestral and choir parts; this time executed by a real orchestra and choir. The songs are well arranged and the classic schooled soprano voice of Liv again sees to it that it all sounds very familiar. In songs where it is needed she sounds crystal clear, but also very fragile and romantic where it is asked for. Alex Krull delivers the aggressive grunting vocals to make the contrast in music even bigger. The band didn't forget to write some songs with leading metallic guitar riffs, which makes this album a great metal album and not a soft romantic album with a few heavy riffs. The production is excellent and with every listening of the album I discovered some new details.

Leaves' Eyes has made their best album to date and that is a performance they can be proud of. Congratulations!

01. Hell to the Heavens
02. Fading Earth
03. Maid of Lorraine
04. Galswintha
05. Symphony of the Night
06. Saint Cecelia
07. Hymn to the Lone Sands
08. Angel and the Ghost
09. Éléonore De Provence
10. Nightshade
11. Ophelia
Label: Napalm Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 30 November, 2013
Website: www.leaveseyes.de