Power of Metal.dk Review

Style: Black Metal
Release date: 25 January, 2013
Playing time: 48'06

Tunes from beyond the grave, as far as my critical mind finds out they have a reason to exist, are always welcome in my lair.

Especially nowadays, speaking of Koldbrann's Vertigo. The band's last album to date combines the good old graveyard feeling with a cyber spaced sound, slightly reminding of the one on Darkthrone's Soulside journey, though Vertigo's both coldness and darkness of chords. The names Mayhem, early Keep of Kalessin, Aura Noir, Windir even pop into my mind.
Short said, with VertigoKoldbrann lifts Norwegian black metal to a new dawn.

There is no too much or too little of anything on Vertigo. The album may suit most tastes, especially that of fans of the more rockable, yet more necro style.

Koldbrann will soon be in the position of showing me their live skills, among others along with Aura Noir. For both bands this is happening forthcoming week-end, at the all-stars festival Hellfest in Clisson, France.

You do have reasons to be looking forward to the above mentioned date of performance, for... won't you be there?

01. IntroVertigo
02. Totalt Sjelelig Bankerott
03. Hjertets Holodomor
04. Drammen
05. Stolichnaya Smert
06. Terminal Transnistrii
07. Phantom Kosmonaut
08. Goat Lodge
09. I Eklipsens Skimmer
10. Sans Soleil
11. Inertia Corridors
Label: Season of Mist
Distribution: Season of Mist
Reviewed by: LyM
Date: 17 June, 2013
Website: www.koldbrann.net