Power of Metal.dk Review

Congress of the Insane
Style: Thrash Metal
Release date: 7 October, 2013
Playing time: 43:56

It is going to be a Dutch autumn if it comes down to thrash and death releases. Pestilence, Bodyfarm, Kill Division, Hail of Bullets and Izegrim all release new albums. April 2008 I saw Izegrim live in Leeuwarden and the show was very promising back then. The two longhaired women behind the microphones made them different from a lot of other bands. Meanwhile things have changed and for some years only Marloes has been taking care of the vocals. I have seen them live more times and must admit that their live performance has grown in the last few years and that it is a steady heavy machine.

You can hear that they have played a lot on stage lately, because the songs on this album are tight like an ants asshole. On this new album the vocals sound even deeper and more aggressive than on the last 2 albums. Their 2011 album 'Code of Consequences' already made a big impression on me, but this "Congress of the Insane" tops it on every front. Fast thrash parts, some slower kind of doomy parts and impressive accelerating guitar soli, all can be heard here.

What even makes the songs better is the groove in several tracks. "Celebratory Gunfire" for example, one of the best tracks I have listened to lately. For me it is impossible to write something about every song, because they all have lots of positive points and are all good! There is only one track I will mention and that is "Manifest of a Megalomaniac", because on this song you can hear Sabina Classen as a guest. I never found clowns very funny and after watching the movie "It", the fun was completely over, but this sublime cover artwork with a clown gives the finishing touch to this album.

Buy this album because Izegrim deserves it and shows that they are not inferior to any top thrash act.

01. Relic of the Past
02. Decline and Fall
03. Celebratory Gunfire
04. Endless Strife
05. Deterioration From Perfection
06. Unchallenged Dominance
07. Modern Day Freak
08. The Legion
09. Carousel of Death
10. Manifest of a Megalomaniac
11. Carnival of Deception
Label: Listenable Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 4 October, 2013
Website: www.izegrim.nl