Power of Metal.dk Review

In The Silence
A Fair Dream Gone Mad
Style: Progressive Metal
Release date: 4 June, 2012
Re-release: 7 May, 2013
Playing time: 46:51

In the Silence is another band that is getting some attention after releasing their debut album in 2012. This band also needs to be reviewed as their album received a re-release from Sensory Records in May 2013. This is a pretty impressive label, and I think the band deserves the attention.

“A Fair Dream Gone Mad” is an emotional piece of art that looks to the likes of Katatonia, Riverside, and Tool as counterparts. It is dark, brooding at times, and always melodic and atmospheric.  Heavy rhythm guitars take the limelight most of the time along with some appropriate drumming. From the very first listen, I came away impressed. In fact, the track “Beneath These Falling Leaves” instantly became a favorite, and it made it into my Top 10 list of best songs of 2012. It really is that good. Some other favorites are "Serenity" and "All the Pieces".

While In The Silence has a great style going on here, I do take a few issues. First of all, the album is kind of one note  It’s a little monotonous. The heavy guitars are great, but they are used throughout the album almost without exception. It gets a little old. Many of the songs have very similar structures as well, although this is nitpicking at best. “Beneath These Falling Leaves” really changes the pace when it hits halfway through the album: It is slow and features a guitar viol that really adds to the music. It slowing builds to a satisfying climax that blew me away on first listen. It left me wishing that the rest of the album had similar variety.

Overall, this album needs to be heard, if only in anticipation of the future masterpieces that I’m sure this band will produce. If they can provide a little more variety, the current levels of emotion and passion will take them a long way. They have the skill and the excellent atmospheres to bring something really amazing in their sophomore album.

01. Ever Closer
17 Shades
Beneath These Falling Leaves
Close to Me
Endless Sea
All the Pieces
Your Reward
Label: Sensory Records
Distribution: Laser's Edge
Artwork rating: 90/100
Reviewed by: Jason Spencer
Date: 11 May, 2013
Website: www.inthesilence.net