Power of Metal.dk Review

Impending Doom
Death Will Reign
Style: Deathcore grind
Release date: 5 November, 2013
Playing time: 46:16

With this fifth album this American Christian band leave no question left of what they are up to. Devastating scorching everything destroying deathcore with grind influences and with some mechanical rhythms is what they serve. A very variable album with very fast parts, but with the necessary slower pieces to not get bored. This all with enough melody, guttural screams, pounding drums and technical skills.

The deep toned riffs are rather catchy and have a sort of hypnotizing effect. Sure sometimes you have to think of the band Whitechapel and indeed fans of that band will find a lot they like on this 'Death Will Reign' album. If you are familiar with their first albums, you can hardly believe that this is the same band, on the first albums they sounded very hectic and unbalanced. Development and progress are surely key words that need to be mentioned here.

Not the music they will prefer in a church, but if your parents forbid you to listen to aggressive metal albums of Deicide, you have an alternative here. They will surely not like the music, but they can't complain about the lyrics. A good album within the deathcore/grind scene!

01. Ravenous Disease
02. Death Will Reign
03. Beyond the Grave
04. My Own Maker
05. Doomsday
06. RIP, Tear and Burn
07. Hellhole
08. My Blood
09. Endless
10. Live or Die
11. The Great Divine
Label: SPV/Steamhammer
Distribution: Playground Music (Scandinavia)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 21 December, 2013
Website: www.facebook.com/impendingdoom