Power of Metal.dk Review

Das Seelenbrechen
Style: Extreme Progressive Metal
Release date: 21 October, 2013
Playing time: 49:00

'Das Seelenbrechen', The Soul Breaking, or the story of a control freak musician who decides to let the madness flows... just kidding.

Improvisation and diversity are the backbone of this piece of art, made possible with a duo: the drums for Leprous' Tobias Ørnes Andersen, everything else for Vegard Sverre Tveitan.

If hard rock is the grandson of blues, metal is the daughter-in-law of classical music, and this last statement is grandly illustrated by 'Hiber' and 'Regen'.

After this grandiose opening, 'NaCl' is more direct until it gets more progressive, the Ihsahn's way.

'Pulse' could have been written for Massive Attack and is the calm before storms named 'Tacit 2' and 'Tacit', full of desperate cries.

'Rec': introvert and disturbing for a lovely atmosphere!

'M' could be a letter in the name Gilmour, with its magnificent pinkfloydian guitar solo.

'Sub Ater': same adjectives and same pleasures as 'Rec'.

'See': a sonic picture of the void.

This track by track short description is just a little key to encourage you to unlock the gate and discover a world of musical freedom, where dreams and nightmares unite.

I guess this limitless 'Das Seelenbrechen' can be taken as a catharsis or a transition from an artist who is doing the hell he wants and feels, with an equal talent: I like him for that.

01. Hiber
02. Regen
03. NaCl
04. Pulse
05. Tacit 2
06. Tacit
07. Rec
08. M
09. Sub Ater
10. See
Label: Candlelight Records
Distribution: Plastic Head Music
Reviewed by: Philippe Leconte
Date: 17 October, 2013
Website: www.ihsahn.com