Power of Metal.dk Review

Human Fortress
Raided Land
Style: Heavy/Power Metal
Release date: 29 November, 2013
Playing time: 54:47

In my opinion Human Fortress have had a couple of solid releases in the past. Such albums include "Lord of Earth and Heavens Heir" (2001) and "Defenders of the Crown" (2003). Their "Eternal Empire" release in 2008 however, was not very well received. It is perhaps considered their worst material up-to-date. Human Fortress went on a 5 year hiatus a little after that, and now, Human Fortress is back refreshed with a new vocalist, Brazil's Gus Monsanto (Code of Silence, Symbolica and ex: Adagio) and Andre Hort (Rough Silk) on the bass.
The classic heavy riffs are entertaining and they do the trick at reclaiming some of what was lost after their Parcharidis (ex-vocalist) era; There are an extensive amounts of notably very easy to remember and chorus centered anthems within this album: Evil Curse, Wasted Years, Chosen Ones and Dark Night are just some of the examples. I might be nitpicking a bit when I say Monsanto is very capable of bringing some of the songs to greater and wuthering heights, but I believe he could've fully attacked some songs with a more maximized range. Perhaps the lack of power in the vibratos is what bothered me - it' s a preference I've gotten used to hearing from singers with gigantic vocals who possess the same kind of harsh undertones. Try listening to monster vocalists like Jørn Lande, Russell Allen and Nils Patrik Johansson without getting chills down your bones! That's the kind of potential I'm talking about! That's what I want to hear!
Human Fortress has definitely attempted their comeback with Raided Land, but, being inactive for 5 years, I kind of expected a little more from this album. Although "Raided Land" has the best production in comparison to their previous albums, it does not meet the same quality of the 2 aforementioned albums. Nevertheless, I see a brighter future with this new line-up.

01. Raided Land (03:59)
02. Child of War (03:45)
03. Wasted Years (04:48)
04. The Chosen One (03:52)
05. Shelter (03:56)
06. The Gladiator of Rome (Pt. 2) (04:27)
07. Dark Knight (05:02)
08. Prelude (01:39)
09. Pray for Salvation (03:53)
10. Evil Curse (05:22)
11. Restless Souls (05:07)
12. Under Siege (04:18)
13. Guard the Blind (04:39)
Label: AFM Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 84/100
Reviewed by: Haydee G.
Date: 21 December, 2013
Website: Human Fortress @ Facebook