Power of Metal.dk Review

Oh Death
Style: Sludge/Stoner
Release date: 23 September, 2013
Playing time: 42:38

This album of Danish sludge pride Helhorse almost slipped through the net without getting a review. That of course would be a shame for our Danish metal site. Although sludge isn't really my cup of tea, every now and then I appreciate it and when the music contains some riffs that remind me of Black Sabbath, I don't mind.

If you need a description of the style Helhorse is playing, I would say a portion of Monster Magnet, a sniff of Kyuss, a piece of Zakk Wylde, a bit of Down, some Clutch, Soundgarden and indeed Black Sabbath. Sure there are other influences I could mention, but this should be enough to get an idea. Some great fuzzy riffs can be heard in the songs and some fine keyboard lines do their work also. Clean vocals and more screamo/harsh ones accompany the music. In general the songs are groovy and raw with a kind of punk attitude. Even the band Pantera enters my mind listening to the track "And His Name is Death", because of the riffs and the singing style.

Summary: a sludgy, muddy, dirty, groovy, doomy, punky album with the necessary melodies and keyboard parts.

01. Fuck Art, Let's Kill
02. Hell Hath No Fury
03. The Seams of Life
04. The Carnal Rage
05. Red Eye
06. Climb Through Fire
07. Kill Your Self
08. Diggin A Hole, Waiting to Die
09. Death Comes to the Sleeping
10. And His Name is Death
11. Scorch the Earth
Label: Mighty Music
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 1 November, 2013
Website: www.helhorse.dk