Power of Metal.dk Review

The Divinity of Purpose
Style: Hardcore
Release date: 25 January, 2013
Playing time: 33'19''

Let's get straight to the point: though not exactly my cup of tea, Hatebreed's The Divinity of Purpose is a reasonable achievement and item for the metal core genre.

The eleven tracks on the album witness of a band that is sure of their style. Each and every of them has a convincing groove in their riffs, led by vindicative toned vocals that won't give up on any case that is raised and claimed. The Divinity of Purpose as a title doesn't deceive.

What I find a shame is a bit of flatness in the sense that the compos can sound restrained where you wish they exploded. The whole is severely energetic in spite of that something missing. Sometimes to the point of getting nagging, though.

What about checking if this applied live?

01. Put it to the Torch
02. Honor Never Dies

03. Own your World

04. The Language

05. Before the Fight Ends you

06. Indivisible

07. Dead Man Breathing

08. The Divinity of Purpose

09. Nothing Scars Me

10. Bitter Truth

11. Boundless (Time to Murder it)

12. Idolized and Vilified (Bonus track on certain editions)
Label: Nuclear Blast
Distribution: Sony Music (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 85/100
Reviewed by: LyM
Date: 10 February, 2013
Website: www.hatebreed.com