Power of Metal.dk Review

Dawn of the End
Style: Bay Area Thrash
Release date: 8 March, 2013
Playing time: 46:04

Five years after their 2008 debut album 'Awaiting Evil', Hatchet released their second album, with almost a completely new line-up. The only original member left is Julz Ramon. Besides the guitar, Julz takes care of the vocals on this album too. The other members are good musicians and especially the drums sound tighter than before.

The songs are rather long and are packed full with soli. The production is modern and the style is Bay Area thrash metal all the way. The songs have many fast parts and the typical gang shouting's like we know them from Exodus are a regular ingredient. From the first note to the last this album is a potpourri of recognizable riffs and arrangements. Bands like Exodus, Forbidden, Testament and old Metallica form the blue-print for this album.

They fit in perfectly with all the other NWOTB, but like all the other bands there isn't any originality in their music, but still it all feels like a nice warm bath.

01. After the Dark
02. Silenced by Death
03. Screams of the Night
04. Fall From Grace
05. Revelations of Good and Evil
06. Signals of Infection
07. Dawn of the End
08. Sinister Thoughts
09. Vanishing Point
10. Welcome to the Plague
Label: The End Records
Distribution: Hold Tight PR
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 27 March, 2013
Website: www.reverbnation.com/hatchetofficial