Power of Metal.dk Review

Style: Thrash Metal
Release date: 6 August, 2013
Playing time: 39:34

The older readers will know the band from their earlier albums, like 'Gore Metal' and 'Slaughtercult'. In their early years (1990-2005) they played a style which could be described as grindcore with death and thrash influences. You could say that a band like Carcass (first albums) was their biggest influence. In 2011 they came back with their come back album called 'All Guts, No Glory' and now 2 years later here is 'Necrocracy'. Drummer Danny Walker has been replaced by Mike Hamilton. Former bass player Bud Burke is also back again and takes now care of the guitars.

You can still hear their grindcore roots in the music, but it is much more riff oriented. One thrash riff after another follows each other and the typical singing of Rob Babcock and Bud Burke see to it that it again sounds like Carcass, but then in their later 'Heartwork' period. Their lyrics are still typical gore ones, but musically they have improved and developed, read: less grindcore.

Especially fans of music in the style of Carcass "Heartwork' period will love this.

01. Coins Upon the Eyes
02. The Shape of Deaths to Come
03. Necrocracy
04. Dysmorphic
05. Sickened
06. (So Passes) The Glory of Death
07. Ravening
08. Carrion Call
09. The Rotting
Label: Relapse Records
Distribution: Cosmo Music Group (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 6 August, 2013
Website: www.myspace.com/exhumed