Power of Metal.dk Review

Style: Symphonic Metal
Release date: 8 November, 2013
Playing time: 180:00

If you talk about female fronted symphonic/gothic metal, bands from the Netherlands are together with Finnish Nightwish the inventors of that genre. Within Temptation is the most successful one, they sold more than a million albums world wide. In the shadow of Within Temptation, the band Epica gained popularity album after album. Sure, their music is a tad heavier, with grunts and melodic death metal parts, but because of the use of synths and choirs and the beautiful singing of Simone Simons, liked by a wide audience.

In March this year Epica performed in Klokgebouw, Eindhoven in front of thousands of fans. It was a special performance, accompanied by the seventy piece Extended Reményi Ede Chamber Orchestra and the Miskolc National Theatre Choir. For the fans that couldn't buy a ticket in time, the band created the facility to stream this unique event live in their homes. Besides songs from their wide repertoire, you can enjoy the previously unreleased "Retrospect", fan favorite "Twin Flames", covers of classics of Vivaldi, Pergolesi, and Oscar winning film composer John Williams. On top of that there are guest appearances of Floor Jansen and founding members Jeroen Simons, Ad Sluijter and Yves Huts.

This concert is released as a 2 DVD/3CD and 2 Blu-ray/3CD. The music on 'Retrospect' is beautiful and very well produced, unfortunately I got the music without the film. But from what I have seen on the internet, the quality of the DVD/Blu-ray is excellent. For those who were at the concert and for all the fans that missed it, this 'Retrospect' is a must have.

For an impression what to expect, check the following link: EPICA - The Phantom Agony (Retrospect Live DVD) - YouTube.

01. Introspect
02. Monopoly on Truth
03. Sensorium
04. Unleashed
05. Martyr of the Free World
06. Chasing the Dragon
07. Presto
08. Never Enough
09. Stabat Mater Dolorsa
10. Twin Flames
11. Serenade of Self Destruction
12. Orchestral Medley
13. The Divine Conspiracy - Anniverasry Edition
14. Delerium
15. Blank Infinity
16. The Obsessive Devotion
17. Retrospect
18. Battle of the Heroes & Imperial March
19. Quietus
20. The Phantom Agony
21. Cry For the Moon
22. Santa Terra
23. Design Your Universe
24. Storm the Sorrow
25. Consign to Oblivion
26. Outrospect
Label: Nuclear Blast
Distribution: Sony Music (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 6 November, 2013
Website: www.epica.nl