Power of Metal.dk Review

Emergency Gate
Style: Electronic Industrial Melodeath-metalcore
Release date: 25 January, 2013
Playing time: 45:59

You can't accuse the band for not being persistent. On a regular base they have released their albums, but like on their earlier releases they never surprise me with something above the average level. My colleague reviewed their 2010 album 'The Nemesis Construct' and already concluded that the song writing is not above average and that their combination of melodic death and metalcore with clean singing doesn't make your piss boil. On earlier albums they played a more thrash influenced power metal style with In Flames influences. During the years they've changed their style a bit on every album and I think that is the bands biggest problem. They are like a good and steady ship searching the ocean but never finding a harbor. 

I have to say that I put on this CD without prejudices, to give the music an honest chance. Sadly for the band I have to conclude that even after a few more spins I am not very excited about it. To be different from a lot of bands they introduced more keyboard passages and a lot of electronic sounds and dance-beats. What the band wants to add with this danceable parts is a big question for me, because I am on the floor because of that. There are enough heavy parts with dirty breakdowns, but without any shame they change to clean singing ballad parts or electronic pieces.

Vocalist Matthias Supka: his screams, grunts, clean singing and shouts aren't that really bad and there is no doubt about the musical skills of every member, but that doesn't make a good album. I think the band should make a choice about the musical direction. For the melodeath-core fans the album is too mellow and has too many electronic parts and to be honest, I don't know for which target group this album is. I hope they succeed in writing a good album next time, if there is going to be one. 

01. Mindfuck
02. Force United
03. Moshpit
04. Feeling Inside
05. Liars Truth
06. Breathless
07. Revolution
08. You
09. Lean On Words
10. Regret
11. Back From the Grave
12. Say Goodbye
Label: Golden Core Records/ZYX Music
Distribution: Gordeon Music
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 23 January, 2013
Website: www.emergency-gate.com