Power of Metal.dk Review

Down Among the Dead Men
Down Among the Dead Men
Style: Death Metal
Release date: 22 November, 2013
Playing time: 31:15

As guess that death metal fans won't be overly surprised if I claim that a collaboration between former Benediction and Bolt Thrower throat Dave Ingram and guitarist Rogga Johansson has spawned a brutal old-school death metal album?

'Down Among The Dead Men' is certainly not a revolution of the genre (yeah, yeah, I know, I already indicated this by using the term old-school), but it still has a freshness about it. I'm not sure how to describe it exactly, but the album has an air of desperation about it, a punk-like edge which gives the whole thing a slightly different energy than most of what the death metal scene spews out today.

The quality of songs is as you'd expect very high, and this is thus a rock solid album and ought to be liked by most death metal fans. If I were to point to something I miss, then it's probably that one or two songs could stick out by being that tiny bit better than the rest - yes, I'm saying that I miss one or two obvious hits. They're not there. BUT a great debut album from these old death metal troopers! Check it out on a website near you.

01. Draconian Rage
02. The Doomsday Manuscript
03. As Leeches Gorge
04. The Epoch
05. Adolescence Of Time
06. Bones Of Contention
07. Dead Man's Switch
08. A Handful Of Dust
09. Infernal Nexus
10. Dead Men Diaries
11. Venus Mantrap
12. Down Among The Dead Men
13. The Stones Lament
Label: Cyclone Empire
Promotion: Sure Shot Worx
Artwork rating: 70/100
Reviewed by: Thomas Nielsen
Date: 27 November, 2013
Website: www.darksentinel.dk/DATDM.html