Power of Metal.dk Review

Style: Symphonic Power Metal
Release date: 13 March, 2013
Playing time: 68:07

This is their fourth release and after the 2 releases on Magna Carta Records this fourth one is a self release. Singer Joe Caggianelli has been replaced by Ivan Giannnini and he is a decent power metal vocalist. Derdian has the typical Italian style and is a mix of Rhapsody, Labyrinth, Vision Divine and Stratovarius. Without a big bag of money they have made this album and due to the modern producing methods it all sounds o.k. The thing that needs improvement in my opinion is the drums. The drum sounds a bit too mechanical and simple. The band has a drummer, but sometimes I get the idea that I'm listening to a drum computer.

After the intro, "Dragon Life" has a fast start. Less interesting is the slower track "Heal My Soul" and you can hear that Joe isn't yet a top singer. Especially in the higher regions he sounds a bit fragile. The song writing hasn't the same quality of a band like Rhapsody yet. Although I have to admit that songs like "Light of Hate" and "Kingdom of Your Heart" are nice to listen to. The tribal beginning of "Limbo" is interesting and shows that the band has enough ideas, this is a track with Angra kind of influences. The piano parts in combination with the guitars and the keys are well performed and I understand why they made this the title track. They have even added some grunting to make the track more aggressive. "Strange Journey" is a sweeter song in Stratovarius style, more interesting is the epic hymn "Hymn of Liberty" with a big Rhapsody mark and the last song with neo-classical influences.

For those who like the bands I already mentioned this is an album they most likely will like, but the band still needs to take a step forward to compete with the best in this genre.

01. Carpe Diem
02. Dragon Life
03. Forever in the Dark
04. Heal My Soul
05. Light of Hate
06. Terror
07. Limbo
08. Kingdom of Your Heart
09. Strange Journey
10. Hymn of Liberty
11. Silent Hope
Label: Independent
Distribution: Independent
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 13 March, 2013
Website: www.myspace.com/derdianmetal