Power of Metal.dk Review

De La Cruz
Street Level
Style: Sleaze Hard Rock
Release date: 22 March, 2013
Playing time: 44:43

Australian De La Cruz is new sleaze/glam metal band filled with Red Bull energy and plenty of young force. They have convinced me that this genre isn't dead. No, no, no. These five lads have six self-released EPs in their backpack and Frontiers Records did the right thing, when they gave them an opportunity with a full length album. I heard them the first time on YouTube and in the first 30 seconds of 'Street Level' their catchy sound took a grasp on me.

In the track 'Street Level' I do hear similarities with big bands like Dokken, Ratt and Winger. The vocalist Roxxi Catalano has the correct worn out and gritty tone in his voice. Mötley Crüe sounding track 'Girls Go Wild' is a steamy party song with pounding drums. 'Turn It Up' is one damn good song with Quiet Riot sound. The two guitarists are creating a thicker sound than the regular sleaze bands manage, like in the magnificent song 'Legions of Love'. It sounds exactly like Def Leppard in their great olden days. Magic!

The riff-filled 'Gimme Love' is a real sleaze song. Slow, drawling vocals, but with cheeky guitars and easy refrain that could fit well at live gigs. I thought that the material was out with a few so-so songs in the middle, but 'Worlds Collide' is a killer song with a lot of extra spices in the bowl. 'S.E.X.' is full of stunning guitars and powerful vocals. 'Street Level' ends with one genre-typical track and with a ballad - 'Shine' that is brilliant. This album gives me a big smile on my face.

Overall; this is strongly recommended to all glam/sleaze rock fans.

I summarizes with a score in the higher OK level. Very talented musicians and crammed with positive energy that rubs off through my headphones.

Line up:
Roxxi Catalano - Vocal
Casey Jones - Guitar
Rory Joy - Guitar
Grant Daniell - Bass
Lacey Lane - Drums

01. Street Level
Girls Go Wild
Turn It Up
Legions of Love
Gimme Love
Cherry Bomb
Worlds Collide
Set The Night
12. Shine
Label: Frontiers Record
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 87/100
Reviewed by: Patrik Skoglund
Date: 16 March, 2013
Website: www.delacruzofficial.com