Power of Metal.dk Review

Death Dealer
War Master
Style: US Heavy (Power) Metal
Release date: 14 June, 2013
Playing time: 50:27

With Ross the Boss, Rhino, Sean Peck and Stu Marshall in the line-up you can expect real heavy metal. Fortunately not a Manowar clone, but pure fast and furious metal tracks.

Opener "Death Dealer" opens the album and this can best be compared to the opening track of Judas Priest's "Painkiller". Because of the vocals of Sean Peck there are similarities with the band Cage also, especially in the fast tracks. After that first violent song, the up-tempo track "Never to Kneel" follows. Again it is full speed ahead with "Warmaster" and the combination of NWOBHM with early eighties speed metal works.

Although there are 2 ex-Manowar members, the one that puts the biggest stamp on this album is Sean, with his high Rob Halford sirens and his typical sound. One of the highlights is "Children of the Flames", a song where Savatage meets Metal Church. It reminds a little bit of Metal Church's "Watch the Children Pray" and it has the same atmosphere as a Savatage song. Immediately another top song follows. In "Curse of the Heretic" Sean sings like King Diamond. He has the highs and the creepy lows and even the soli and the riffing is typical Mercyful Fate.

After two of the best songs on the album the track "Hammer Down" sounds a little bit average, but there is nothing wrong with it. "The Devils Mile" reminds me of Racer X and Lizzy Borden and is typical US-metal. "Heads Spikes Wall" is again a typical Judas Priest sounding kind of song and Cage and Helstar enter my mind too. The last track is the first track that really has the Manowar stamp on it and sounds a bit like "Fighting the World". This is an album that has to be in every old and new school heavy metal fans collection. I hope that the Manowar members will listen to this album because this is how metal should sound like!

If you like bands like Cage, Judas Priest, Helstar, Metal Church and Manowar this is a perfect album for you, to get you through the summer.

01. Death Dealer
02. Never to Kneel
03. Warmaster
04. Children of Flames
05. Curse of the Heretic
06. Hammer Down
07. The Devils Mile
08. Liberty or Death
09. Heads Spikes Walls
10. Wraiths on the Wind
Label: Steel Cartel Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 14 June, 2013
Website: www.deathdealer.co