Power of Metal.dk Review

Dark Moor
Ars Musica
Style: Power Metal
Release date: 18 June, 2013
Playing time: 74:13

After the heroic and bombastic intro, "First Lance to Spain" opens the album. Immediately you recognize their style, there isn't a big difference from their earlier albums. The power metal of Dark Moor always sounds rather romantic and has many orchestral parts.

Songs like "Together as Ever" and "The Road Again" are rather melancholy and "Living in a Nightmare" and "The City of Peace" are very bombastic and remind me of Rhapsody. "It is My Way" sounds a lot like a very popular and famous song with the title: "I did It My Way". Whether or not this is a coincidence I don't know?

Fans of Dark Moor will have no complaints about this new album, but I had hoped for a few new parts instead of playing on auto pilot. Nevertheless there is nothing wrong and if you like this years album by Serenity, you will love this one too.

01. Ars Musica (intro)
02. First Lance of Spain
03. It Is My Way
04. The Road Again
05. Together as Ever
06. The City of Peace
07. Gara and Jonay
08. Living in a Nightmare
09. El Ultimo Rey
10. Saint James Way
11. Spanish Suite (Asturias)
12. The Road Again (acoustic version)
13. Living in a Nightmare (orchestral version)
Label: Scarlet Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 19 June, 2013
Website: www.dark-moor.com