Power of Metal.dk Review

Dark Design
Prey For the Future
Style: Technical Power/Thrash
Release date: 10 September, 2013
Playing time: 47:41

'Prey for the Future' is the debut album by the NC technical power thrashers Dark Design. Ray Lewis (guitar), Mike Joyner (guitar), Andrew Bertrand (vocals) and the brothers Matt (bass) and Robbie Mercer (drums) form the band.

After the acoustic intro, the song "Dark Design" starts and singer Andrew gives me an immediate James Hetfield kind of feeling. Several bands enter my mind, the music is progressive, has lots of thrash elements, there are tempo changes and a lot of variety. Technical parts sometimes remind me a bit of Death, sometimes Toxik enters my mind, but also bands like Atheist, Cynic (certain bass lines), Megadeth, Iron Maiden (twin guitars) and Forbidden.

Musical elements of lots of good bands and that has to lead to some good music. At the moment they are not yet at the same high level as the bands I mentioned, but they are close. In my opinion, the drum sound could have been better and sometimes the Metallica influence in a song lays to much on top, just listen to the start of "Welcome to You're Doom". Rather old school sounding speed metal can be heard in the song "Meditations" with some fine Mike Varney kind of guitars. The album ends with the cover "Dust in the Wind", a decent execution of the song if you ask me.

All in all a good debut album, that is very promising, you certainly have to check them out!

01. In Media Res
Dark Design
03. No Death
04. Abiding Contempt
05. Welcome to You're Doom
06. Dragonmount
07. Meditations
08. Spice World
09. Dust in the Wind
Label: Heaven and Hell Records
Distribution: Clawhammer PR
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 6 September, 2013
Website: www.myspace.com/darkdesignband