Power of Metal.dk Review

The Savage Playground
Style: Glam Metal
Release date: 25 January, 2013
Playing time: 61:22

The Swedish members in the glam rock band CrashDïet are releasing their fourth studio album with 'The Savage Playground' and with their third vocalist; Simon Cruz. It seems that they have a solid band line-up for the future. Crashdïet is faithful to their sleaze rock/glam metal sound or if I give them a more specific genre it's more in a hair metal with punk look end of the specter.

Their journey started off back in 2002 and their debut album came in 2005 (Rest In Sleaze) and was a disc full of hits. Crashdïet's career was pointing up!, but, the big disaster happened when the front man Dave Lepard committed suicide 2006 and the bands future was unsure and diffuse. But they continued with different vocalists and Simon has been Simon been the permanent singer from 2009 on. 'Generation Wild' from 2010 was their big breakthrough and a very successful album, with strong reviews and they were an opening act at Ozzy's concert in Stockholm that year.

Three years have passed and now it's time to show the world if the development to the bigger scenes has continued. The production is flawless and the sound is perfect. The bad boys have really used the time well to make several hit songs, which will give them a long, long summer in the tour bus with 'The Savage Playground'. 'Cocaine Cowboys' is a top song with splendid singing and iron heavy guitars in a Motley Crüe style. 'Anarchy' follows and is another big track on the album with marvelous guitars and an ultra strong vocal performance. The music is somehow more adult and mature than earlier, but they still have the saucy and rebellious elements in their songs. The smashing 'Sin City' is a cheeky track with tons of attitude and heavy as hell. 'Got a Reason' is an epic track in a different style than the previous songs, with more guitars and a smooth tempo.

In the party song 'Drinkin' Without You' the pace is faster again and it is a straight forward rock tune. One of the best tracks on the entire album is 'Snakes in Paradise'; darker vocals, duller guitars creates a different flavor in a more blackened style. A good track that breaks off and provides a different flavor to the dish. The melodic song 'Excited' is another grown-up tune that will attract new fans.

The ending track 'Garden of Babylon' is a more than seven minutes long sleeping pill. I return to the stiff hard tracks at the beginning of the album, but overall this is a must have disc to the fans of Kiss, Guns N' Roses, Skid Row, Mötley Crüe and Hanoi Rocks. My thumb is up.
Line up: Simon Cruz - lead vocals, guitars, Martin Sweet - guitars, Peter London - bass and Eric Young - drums.

01. Change The World
Cocaine Cowboys
Lickin’ Dog
Sin City
Got A Reason
Drinkin’ Without You
Snakes In Paradise
Damaged Kid
12. Excited
Garden Of Babylon
Label: Frontiers Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 76/100
Reviewed by: Patrik Skoglund
Date: 12 January, 2013
Website: www.crashdiet.org