Power of Metal.dk Review

Frozen Paradise
Style: Melodic Hard Rock
Release date: 20 September, 2013
Playing time: 52:35

The third effort from this Swedish melodic hard rock band is a fine one again. Like on the first two they serve well written melodic 80's rock songs with heavy guitars. The mix of Tommy Hansen sees to it that it sounds rather majestic and even a bit epic at times. The outstanding vocals of Niklas Swedentorp is the icing on the cake to finish it off. His voice sounds like a mix of David Coverdale, Jorn Lande and DC Cooper.

Resemblances to several bands can be mentioned and you can say that every song has the same structure, but that doesn't bother me. Crunchy guitars, emotional vocals, good arrangements, nice choruses all driven forward by tight drumming. The songs are groovy, have a heavy touch, a nice AOR feeling and strong melodies. It is not easy to mention a song that tops any other because they are all the same level.

If you like the older Dokken stuff, The Scorpions, Whitesnake, Queensryche, Lynch Mob, Sonata Arctica, Europe, Gotthard or anything in between, you will surely like this one also.

01. Paradise
02. Angel of the World
03. Life Has Just Begun
04. Goin' All the Way
05. Alive
06. Life 2 Live
07. On the Run
08. Soldiers
09. Fallin'
10. Dark Reflections
11. Legacy
Label: Escape Music
Distribution: Sound Pollution
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 15 September, 2013
Website: www.coldspell.se