Power of Metal.dk Review

Hope in Hell
Style: Heavy Metal
Release date: 27 May, 2013
Playing time: 53:31

I have never been a big fan of the entire catalogue of the band Anvil, I like the faster songs in their anthology, but on almost every album there are slower and not as strong tracks. The first albums are still their best in my opinion and the band influenced almost every speed metal band in the late eighties.

After watching the movie 'the story of Anvil' I got a big sympathy for Robb and Steve. The touching story of a band fighting for their existence and always keeping the faith in what they are doing, moved me. That movie was a step for them in popularity and their 2011 album 'Juggernaut of Justice' did rather well.

With this new album I hoped for a real hammer, but I remain rather disappointed. Yes it is typical Anvil from start to finish, but there is no surprise whatsoever. The sound of the album is very good, no complaints about the production and the mix, but I can't say the same about the songs. I appreciate the faster tracks like "Eat Your Words", "The Fight is Never Won" and "Shut the Fuck Up" the most. "Through With You" is a remake of "Smoke on the Water" completed with an Ozzie's "Crazy Train" guitar riff. I don't know if this is meant as an ode to the bands, or just a 'case of' no inspiration.

Some mid-tempo tracks like "Pay the Toll" and "Flying" sound very uninspired and are just old songs put in a new jacket. Slow tracks like "Call of Duty", and "Time Shows No Mercy" are just below average songs with AC/DC riffs and they just underline that Anvil falls back into repeat mode. The two bonus tracks "Hard Wired" and "Fire at Will" can't save the day for them either.

In an interview with Lips I read that this is their best album so far, but I wonder if he still thinks the same in a few years..... I don't agree with him, far from that. Anvil fans might find enough stuff they like, but nothing new.

01. Hope In Hell
02. Eat Your Words
03. Through With You
04. The Fight is Never Won
05. Pay the Toll
06. Flying
07. Call of Duty
08. Badass Rock N Roll
09. Time Shows No Mercy
10. Mankind Machine
11. Shut the Fuck Up
12. Hard Wired (bonus track)
13. Fire at Will (bonus track)
Label: SPV/Steamhammer
Distribution: Playground Music (Scandinavia)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 24 May, 2013
Website: www.anvilmetal.com