Power of Metal.dk Review

Angels of Babylon
Style: Power Metal
Release date: 18 June, 2013
Playing time: 64:10

Ex Manowar drummer Rhino on drums and vocals. This is the follow up to their 2010 album called "Kingdom of Evil". Alex Stephens (guitar) and Jesse Ringo (bass), complete the line-up. You can compare this line-up with the band Exciter. Drumming and singing isn't an easy job, but fortunately that isn't a problem in the studio.

The first track is a fast track with fine drumming and it has a power metal touch. Second track "Sondrio" is slower and has a different style; Keyboards reminding of the 70's and riffs and singing in a kind of Black Sabbath/Rainbow style - an epic rather symphonic track. The galloping track "Queen Warrior" is again a bit faster and the 70's keys brighten up the song. "What Have You Become" is a more groovy and slower track. "White Star Line" starts with acoustic guitars before it develops into a guitar driven track.

I have to mention the singing of Rhino; he does a real good job. "The Enemy" has a spoken part in it taken from an interview with Charles Manson, but it doesn't add a thing to the song if you ask me. The next track I want to mention is "Redemption", which reminds a bit of a slow Black Sabbath track, in their 'Headless Cross' era. "Turning the Stone" is a ballad, but not one I will remember after a few weeks. The album ends with one of the heavier and faster tracks. This is a track that can best be compared with songs on Judas Priest's 'Painkiller' album.

Final conclusion is that this is a rather variable album with influences of 70's rock, modern power metal and early eighties NWOBHM. Like Rhino's other release Death Dealer, this is again a good album and perhaps a little less heavy than Death Dealer, but a must for every true heavy metal fan.

01. Thundergod
02. Sondrio
03. Queen Warrior
04. What Have You Become
05. White Star Line
06. The Enemy
07. True Brothers
08. Redemption
09. King of All Kings
10. Turning the Stone
11. Bullet
Label: Scarlet Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 19 June, 2013
Website: www.myspace.com/angelsofbabylonofficial