Power of Metal.dk Review

Style: Hard Rock/AOR
Release date: 29 November, 2013
Playing time: 49:55

The magnificent Swedish vocalist Angelica Rylin from The Murder of My Sweet release hers first solo album. Harry Hess, Daniel Flores, Robert Säll and Anders Wigelius have contributed on Angelica's solo debut 'Thrive' and with some excellent guitarists like Jesper Stromblad (In Flames), Magnus Karlsson (Primal Fear), Per Berquist (Smash Into Pieces) also appearing on this album. There is also a very special performance by the keyboardist Matt Guillory (James LaBrie).

Frontiers Records has a new female star vocalist in the AOR genre in the charming Angelica Rylin! It feels through the speakers that Angelica truly loves to sing this kind of music and we now have a Swedish singer in the Robin Beck and Ann Wilson (Heart) class! With big loads of inspiration from the magic 80's melodic rock, blended with modern hard rock with fat and meaty guitar riffs.

I hear Foreigner, Heart, Whitesnake, Toto, Harem Scarem and Pat Benatar in this album and if you are a fan or are a fanatic lover (like I am) of the AOR/hard rock music you have a new shining star to put into your collection. I have been listening to 'Thrive' about thirty times now and I don't really want to end my journey with Angelica already. The production is in world-class and it's of course her "friend" Daniel Flores, who is behind the crystal clear sound. I'm a big fan of The Murder of My Sweet's releases, but this is probably her own personal musical genre. Angelica's voice is carved and sculptured to fit a softer and gentler rock.

A more than solid and promising debut disc, which perhaps will lead her into another musical direction in the future? On one hand I hope that she will continue in The Murder of My Sweet because they makes great symphonic metal, but this album must give her the strength to tightening her own bow further and aim towards a career in the melodic rock genre. To you all melodic rock fans out there: Angelicas 'Thrive' is given purchase and she is hot to watch too...!

Vocals: Angelica Rylin
Guitars: Per Bergquist
Drums and Keyboards: Daniel Flores
Bass: Johan Niemann
Soloists: Matt Guillory (12), Jesper Stromblad (2), Magnus Karlsson (1), Mats Lindfors (4, 5) Per Bergquist (3)
Backing Vocals: Anders Wigelius, Angelica Rylin, Daniel Flores 

01. Breaking My Heart
I Am Strong
To Your Rescue
Can't Stop Love
Nothing Else You Can Break
Riding Out The Storm
Rain On My Parade
Losers In Paradise
You Will Never Win
This Kiss Is Just For You
11. I'm Not Waiting
12. Take Me To Your Heart
Label: Frontiers Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 87/100
Reviewed by: Patrik Skoglund
Date: 28 November, 2013
Website: www.youtube.com