Power of Metal.dk Review

Y & T
Live at the Mystic
Style: Hard Rock
Release date: 23 November, 2012
Playing time: 67:21 (CD 1), 54:25 (CD 2)

I’m not a fan of live albums but only a couple of weeks ago I saw Y&T live for the second time in London, so when I got offered to review this official live album I was curious to see how it would compare to my still fresh memories. Well, I can say straight away that “Live At The Mystic” largely paints a faithful picture of my own experiences.


The double album is over 2 hours long, making it a mouth-watering proposition for Y&T fans. All Y&T live favourites are there, including more recent numbers such as ‘Blind Patriot’, a song which seems to have been written purposely for live delivery. Many numbers have extended solos: ‘I Believe In You’ and ‘Winds Of Change’ are worth highlighting for Dave Meniketti’s blazing guitar solos. 

One notable omission in the promo I was sent is the ‘I’ll Cry For You’ Blues instrumental, which originally appeared in the band’s “Contagious” album in 1987. Pity – Meniketti’s emotional soloing in that number is a major highlight of Y&T’s gigs. The rest of the band (i.e. John Nymann on guitar, Mike Vanderhule on drums and bass player Brad Lang) seem to be having the time of their life…and their mood is quite contagious. 

So, as live albums go, this is doubtlessly worth your hard-earned cash but remember that nothing ever beats the real ‘in-the-flesh’ thing. And with Y&T more than anyone else.


CD 1
01. Prelude
02. On With The Show
03. Black Tiger
04. Dirty Girl
05. Meanstreak
06. Girl Crazy
07. Shine On
08. Blind Patriot
09. Winds Of Change
10. Straight Through The Heart
11.Gonna Go Blind'
12. Surrender
13. I'm Coming Home

CD 2
01. Hungry For Rock
02. Don't Wanna Lose
03. Don't Bring Me Down
04. Hurricane
05. I Believe In You
06. Eyes Of A Stranger
07. Rescue Me
08. Squeeze

09. Forever

Label: Frontiers Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Chris Galea
Date: 8 November, 2012
Website: www.meniketti.com