Style: Symphonic Metal
Release date: 30 October, 2012
Playing time: 74:55

Does the scene need yet another orchestral symphonic gothic metal band? Well, if you have listened to this album, I think there is only one conclusion: yes!

Whyzdom is a French band that has already released an EP and their debut album in 2009. This female fronted band does everything right. Elvyne Lorient has a warm and very good voice and does a very good job. The songs are well arranged and stay interesting from start to finish. The music is very symphonic, orchestral and with a lot of choir singing, you could perhaps say that they sound like a combination of Therion and Nightwish in a way. The music consists of a lot of layers, but due to a good production and mix it all sounds great. The guitars are mixed in very well too, so it never sounds too whimpy.

I could tell you a lot more about the several songs, but this is a record you should experience. I can try to explain the music by words, but even if I write a book about it, it wouldn't be enough. If you are a sucker for bands like Tristania, Therion, Epica, Nightwish, Within Temptation and so on, you certainly will be pleased by this album.

This isn't music anymore, this is art!


01. The Lighthouse
02. Dancing With Lucifer
03. Cassandra's Mirror
04. On the Road to Babylon
05. Paper Princess
06. The Spider
07. The Wolves
08. Venom and Frustration
09. Lonely Roads
10. The Foreseer
11. Cathedral of the Damned

Label: Scarlet Records
Distribution: Scarlet Records
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 31 October, 2012
Website: www.myspace.com/whyzdomproject