Power of Metal.dk Review

His Blood Is Yours
Style: Dark Progressive Metal
Release date: 6 November, 2012
Playing time: 61:33

This is the Swedish guitarist/composer Björn Eliasson's project named Warnot, with a list of guest vocalists that really spices 'His Blood Is Yours' up really well. As for instance Björn's former bands mate in Cloudscape, the vocal star: Mike Andersson who contributes on this album.

Warnot is an epic piece of art with many genres of metal, which is mixed into a very powerful flavor in a theatrical, dark and melancholic fashion. It is also very melodic and progressive at the same time in it's core. Eliasson has worked for quite some time to get this project into shape, which is very nicely produced and mastered by him btw.

The songs feel very well balanced and are strongly crafted compositions; as a sturdy brick wall compared to a foldable plywood box. Every little part of the constructions is nicely balanced and has its importance in the final overall impression. The various singers create nuances that give every track its own unique character.

The mixture of Symphony X, Yes, Sabbath, Rainbow and little ounce of Scandinavian melodic rock is fresh and it feels like Mr. Eliasson has created a personal disc with very emotional parties. They are at the same time able to weave melodic power metal blocks with bombastic, glowing eruptions where the heavy progressive metal elements are captivating.

I must admit that this is my new favourite disc in the progressive genre. The well composed mixture from the 'metal cookbooks' different ingredients with spices, which will catch many fans of progressive metal interest, because there is plenty to appreciate and very little to dislike on this disc. Strong and sweet in a spicy blend.

My thumb is up and I hope to hear more from Warnot!

Lineup: Björn Eliasson - Vocals, Guitars, Bass, Keyboards, Drum Programming
Guest vocalists: Thomas Bursell, Mike Andersson, Sussi Sorensen, Björn Persson, Sara Andersson and André Mollestam.

01. Raptures Of The Deep
The Crow Will Die
My Darkest Hour
A Late Night Dance With Death
Secrets of Mythology
His Blood Is Yours
New York
The Patriot
I Am A Ghost
The Wrong Path
12. Sirens
Label: Nightmare Records
Distribution: Nightmare Records
Artwork rating: 78/100
Reviewed by: Patrik Skoglund
Date: 29 October, 2012
Website: www.facebook.com/warnot.band