Crystal Eye
Style: Hard Rock
Release date: 24  February, 2012
Playing time: 44:29

Rather unexpected for me there is a new album from the Dutch band Vengeance. A lot of you might know that Arjen Lucassen was a member of the band many many years ago. Their 2009 predecessor 'Soul Collector' was already a nice rock album, but this one tops that one.

After the passing of guitarist Jan Somers in January 2011 I didn't expect another album. But vocalist Leon Goewie found a kind of all star line-up to make this album possible. He recruited Chris Slade (ex-AC/DC) on drums, Chris Glen (MSG) on bass, Keri Kelly (guitars, but not a band member), Michael Voss (guitar, backings and producer) and last but not least, Timo Somers (the son of Jan Somers) on guitar.

The songs are written by several different musicians; Hans Ziller (Bonfire), Michael Voss, Christian Tolle are just to name a few. Most of the lyrics were penned by Michael Voss in collaboration with Leon Goewie. If you think that is all, you are wrong. "Whole Lot of Metal" for example is written by Tony Martin (Black Sabbath) and the best song in my opinion; "Crystal Eye" was written by Arjen Lucassen.

With all these first class artists, you can expect well written songs and that is what this album has. Expect music in the style of AC/DC, Judas Priest and Accept. With "Promise Me" the album has its sensitive ballad, but the title track is a more darker more epic composition. You can surely hear that it comes from the hands of Arjen. The album sounds very tight and that is also a credit of Chris Slade's drumming. Vengeance was always a band with a little party attitude, and there are certainly a few tracks that have their humor in them, but this is their most serious album to date. In memory of Jan Somers, the album closes with a short instrumental.

All in all, the most mature album and a nice one for those who like good solid hard rock with excellent vocals.


01. Me and You
02. Bad to the Bone
03. Barbeque
04. Shock Me Now
05. Five Knuckle Shuffle
06. Desperate Women
07. Whole Lot of Metal
08. Promise Me
09. Crystal Eye
10. Missing
11. Jan's End Piece

Label: SPV/Steamhammer
Distribution: Playground Music (Scandinavia)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries 
Date: 1 March, 2012