Various Artists
Illud Divinum Insanus - The Remixes
Style: Remixes
Release date: 24 February, 2012
Playing time: More than three hours

Morbid Angel divided fans into two warring parties with the release of 2011's 'Illud Divinum Insanus'. The gods of death metal had finally returned with a studio recording, and then what the hell was this? Industrial?!

Some of us loved Morbid Angel for doing exactly what they felt like doing. The album was killer.

Dave and the boys are taking things one step further. '
Illud Divinum Insanus - The Remixes' is over three hours' worth of remixes. I picture sporadic instances of suicide among the Morbid Angel fan community...

Some will probably regard this a provocation taken even further, and they'd surely be right. Not that this is the first time. Laibach, who by the way open the ball on the present release, did remixes of 'Covenant' material already back in the nineties.

I still love Morbid Angel for daring. That said, listening to this album in its entirety is for me an impossibility. Not in one go, anyway. It's simply too much. And even if I can hear that the DJ's and electro stars who've treated the Morbid Angel material have different takes on the songs, it still comes across very similar to someone who's not used to this kind of music and not that much of a fan.

What I do notice, however, is that when looking down the list of songs remixed, the overweight lies on I Am Morbid, Ten More Dead and Too Extreme. Wonder why?

Anyhoo, this is a release for those who must have everything that bears the Morbid Angel moniker (and, yes, I'll have to buy it at some point), but for those who're "just" fans of Morbid Angel as a death metal band and nothing else should just keep their hands away.

For electro/industrial fans, however, this could be a fine introduction to one of the best death metal bands ever!

If I were to pick a favourite track from this collection, well, it's almost impossible, but one that kind of fascinated me is John Lord Fonda's version of Too Extreme. It has a, I don't know, Depeche Mode touch which somehow works. Weird things occur.

CD 1 (70:52)
01. Laibach – I Am Morbid (Wall of Morbid mix)
02. cEvin Key /Hiwatt Marshall – OmniDead
03. Brain Leisure - Too Extreme (Black Symphony Edition)
04. The Toxic Avenger – 10 More Dead
05. Malakwa – I Am Morbid
06. Synapscape – Too Extreme
07. Punish Yourself vs Sonic Area – Destructos vs The Earth (DoomsdayMarchMix)
08. HIV+ - Too Extreme
09. Micropoint – I Am Morbid
10. John Lord Fonda - Too extreme (Metallizer Remix)
11. Evil Activities - Radikult
12. Mixhell – Too Extreme
13. Black Lung – I Am Morbid
14. Mondkopf - Radikult
15. Xytras – Existo Vulgoré
16. Toxic Engine – I Am Morbid

CD 2 (72:34)
01. Ahnst Anders – I Am Morbid
02. Nachtmahr – Destructos vs. the Earth
03. Tim Skold – Profundis – Mea Culpa
04. Black Strobe – 10 More Dead
05. Chris Pohl – Too Extreme
06. Project Pitchfork – Destructos vs. the Earth
07. Treponem Pal – 10 More Dead
08. Scott Brown – I Am Morbid
09. Fixhead - Radikult
10. Dj Ruffneck – I Am Morbid
11. Igorrr – Remixou Morbidou
12. Tamtrum – I Am Morbid
13. Tek-One – 10 More Dead
14. Adrian – I Am Morbid
15. The Horrorist – Existo Vulgoré

01. Combichrist – Destructos vs The Earth
02. Chrysalide - Nevermore
03. Asche – Destructos vs The Earth
04. Sylvgheist Maelstrom – 10 More Dead
05. Dead Sexy Inc. – I am Morbid
06. Roger Rotor - Radikult
07. The Processus – I am Morbid
08. Mulk – Existo Vulgoré
Label: Season Of Mist
Distribution: Season Of Mist
Artwork rating: 70/100
Reviewed by: Thomas Nielsen
Date: 14 March, 2012