Power of Metal.dk Review

Slave to the Empire
Style: Hard Rock
Release date: 29 October, 2012
Playing time: 60:16

“Slave to the Empire” is a throwback to the 1980s when Rock was this unpretentious music full of youthful high-octane energy. And man, it feels sooooo good to be there again!


T&N (that’s Tooth & Nail abridged to T&N for copyright reasons) was created by Jeff Pilson (bass), George Lynch (guitar) and ‘Wild’ Mick Brown (drums) – in essence this is Dokken minus Don Dokken. (“Tooth & Nail” was in fact the title of Dokken’s 2nd album, released in 1984.) With the Dokken dudes are a range of guests who drop by to pay their respects: Tim “Ripper” Owens (Yngwie Malmsteen, Judas Priest, Iced Earth), Doug Pinnick (King’s X), Sebastian Bach (Skid Row) and Robert Mason (Warrant). “Slave to the Empire” – the band’s debut – features 5 re-recorded Dokken classics in addition to 7 new songs. It’s a strange format, to be honest.


But you know, who cares about the whys and what not's! Of far greater relevance is that the songs are a bundle of sharply executed, Bluesy, infectious Hard Rock energy. Jeff Pilson is adequate at lead vocal duties and Brian Tichy (Whitesnake, Foreigner), who plays drums in the new compositions, is his usual manic self.


So go get this album!

01. Slave to the Empire
02. Sweet Unknown
03. Tooth and Nail
04. It's Not Love
05. Rhythm of the Soul
06. When Eagles Die
07. Into the Fire
08. Alone Again
09. Mind Control
10. Kiss of Death
11. Jesus Train

12. Access Denied
Label: Edel Records
Distribution: Playground Music
Reviewed by: Chris Galea
Date: 30 October, 2012
Website: T and N