The New Low
Style: Crossover
Release date: 6 January, 2012
Playing time: 32:00

If nothing else, then at least listen to the opening riff of the title track of this second album by Danish The New Low. That riff is to die for!

The guitar work is definitely The New Low's forcé. It is inventive, fun and mixes elements from Iron Maiden to S.O.D., from punk over rock to thrash. In that respect, this is indeed a wonderful album with loads of energy and charm.

On the down side, I miss more variation in the vocal performance. It is a joy to get a diversion from Christian's screaming in the shape of clean vocals in A Faded Photograph, Drown and Going Nowhere. More of that, please!

As a whole, this is a listen-worthy album which should give most fans of the crossover genre enjoyable moments, but there are a couple fillers in there which don't quite make the grade.

Anyway, check it out - it's got good energy!

01. Misery
02. So Sick of You
03. The Underdog
04. A Faded Photograph
05. Nothing in the End
06. Drown
07. Cowboy Suicide
08. Death Upon Us
09. Black Hearts
10. San Quentin
11. Going Nowhere
12. Hopeless Cases
13. Death March
Label: Schizophrenic Inc.
Promotion: Schizophrenic Inc.
Artwork rating: 75/100
Reviewed by: Thomas Nielsen
Date: 31 March, 2012
Website: The New Low@MySpace