The Kandidate
Facing the Imminent Prospect of Death
Style: Thrash/Hardcore
Release date: 27 January, 2012
Playing time: 31:04

The Danish band around vocalist Jacob Bredahl (ex-Hatesphere) releases their second album. Fans of their debut don't need to be afraid and can purchase this one with their eyes closed. I dare to say that this one is better than the predecessor 'Until We Are Outnumbered'.

Thrashers that don't know the band yet have to be careful. The songs of The Kandidate have a big hardcore sauce on top. At first the voice of Jacob sees to that, but also the typical punk-influenced drum patterns. Some songs do remind of Entombed's death and roll 'Wolferine Blues' period and even the vocals sometimes sound like a mix of Petrov and Derrick Green. The thrash parts have elements of the bands like The Haunted, Slayer in them and nowadays Sepultura. The songs are all rather short and the first track "Death" is more an intro than a song. Short but very effective, although a few songs extra would have been fine. After half an hour it is over and that is rather short for today's standards.

Fans who like The Haunted and Invocator and thrashers that dig hardcore or vise versa will be pleased with this second album from The Kandidate.


01. Death
02. Beyond the Mind, Sleep You'll Find
03. One and Alone
04. Total War
05. Modvind
06. Let the Maggots Have It
07. Standing on the Cliffs of Madness
08. Fucked in the Search For Life
09. Disillusionized
10. Dommedag                                                  11. The Knives Spit

Label: Napalm Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 25 January, 2012