Power of Metal.dk Review

Style: Progressive Metal
Release date: 21 March, 2011
Playing time: 54:38

The term Progressive Metal can be coined in many ways and in the case of Tesseract you, dear reader, would do well in thinking a lot more along the lines of the music by Meshuggah and not that by Symphony X.

Since I have hinted on the obvious Meshuggah influence I must also ad that Tesseract has a sound of their own and also has a more melodic approach to song writing than said band. The song structures are very difficult and are far from catchy. Still the album fascinates with tons of interesting surprises underway. The only slightly let down for me are the vocals that are too emo like for me at times. I have, however, still rated this album very highly because even if I am not too keen on them, the vocals really fits the music very well.

If you are one of those interested in the newest trends “one” is part of what has been called “Djent”, personally I think that progressive metal describes it quite all right.

01. Lament (04:53)
02. Nascent (04:09)
03. Acceptance - Concealing Fate Part One (08:34)
04. Deception - Concealing Fate Part Two (05:23)
05. The Impossible - Concealing Fate Part Three (04:51)
06. Perfection - Concealing Fate Part Four (02:38)
07. Epiphany - Concealing Fate Part Five (01:29)
08. Origin - Concealing Fate Part Six (04:44)
09. Sunrise (03:57)
10. April (04:48)
11. Eden (09:08)
Label: Century Media
Distribution: EMI (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Steen Schøn
Date: 23 September, 2012
Website: www.tesseractband.co.uk