Hordes of Zombies
Style: Grindcore/Death Metal
Release date: 24 February, 2012
Playing time: 39:08

Get this: I'm on my way to Mexico where my company has a factory. I'm in transit in Amsterdam and waiting at the gate. Guess who's in front of me in the queue?! Jeff bleedin' Walker! In my book, this man's a legend and he's right there in front of me in a line for a flight to Mexico! Am I chuffed or what? Had to say hello, of course. Needless to say. Bloody hell!

Now, this review is about the latest release from another legendary grindcore band, namely Terrorizer. I'll allow myself to be completely straight-forward and rather blunt from the outset: I'd expected something more powerful than this. Where Napalm Death hit the Album of the Month spot on this site last month, the other of the late Jesse Pintado's primary bands isn't exactly the top of the pops. Unlike 'World Downfall' this certainly is not going to make history.

Hey, I know, I sound awfully negative, and I'm truly sorry. I reckon I'd expected a lot and is therefore more prone to be disappointed. If I take one step back, as I should, 'Hordes of Zombies' isn't a bad album per se, it's just nowhere near legendary.

Pete Sandoval is as always a true demon behind the kit, and he's most certainly recovered from his back injury. Good to hear.

A slight problem is that he kind of stands alone. I don't know if I can explain this properly, but to me it sounds as if the Commando did his piece (and did it well), and then the rest of the band tried to add something on top of it. They didn't QUITE manage to hit the bullseye.

Terrorizer anno 2012 sounds a fair bit like Slayer, more Slayer than I remember the two previous albums did. Especially the track State of Mind sounds a lot like something Tom Araya and Co. could have done, and, as it happens, that very song is the best tune of the album, I think.

In conclusion, 'Hordes of Zombies' is all in all a fine album, but don't expect it to blow your mind entirely as I'd hoped it would.

01. Intro
02. Hordes of Zombies
03. Ignorance and Apathy
04. Subterfuge
05. Evolving Era
06. Radiation Syndrome
07. Flesh To Dust
08. Generation Chaos
09. Broken Mirrors
10. Prospect Of Oblivion
11. Malevolent Ghosts
12. Forward To Annihilation
13. State Of Mind
14. A Dying Breed
Label: Seasons Of Mist
Distribution: Seasons Of Mist
Artwork rating: 75/100
Reviewed by: Thomas Nielsen
Date: 13 March, 2012
Website: www.terrorizergrindcore.net