A Girl Called Cerveza
Style: Thrash Metal
Release date: 27 July, 2012
Playing time: 50:09

Will the next Zakk Wylde album be: 'A Boy Called Sabbath'? That was the first thing that came to mind when I read the new Tankard album title. But let me stick to this album. The German band Tankard is like a Mercedes, it is never going to let you down. 30 years(!) ago the band started with the one purpose to have fun and play music. With 'Zombie Attack' they gained their first followers and after that they have produced new albums on a regular base. This is their fifteenth album and their first for Nuclear Blast.

These Beer-lovers stick to their usual subjects and the lyrics and song-titles are again with a good sense of humour. A title like "Son of a Fridge" says it all and I wonder after how many beers the plot for this one was though of. Musically they haven't change a lot from the predecessor 'Vol(u)me 14'. Perhaps you can conclude that the songs are even catchier than before. Decent songs like we are used from them, with nice sing-a-long refrain and nice 'jump up and down' grooves.

On "The Metal Lady Boy" they have invited Doro for a successful vocal contribution. My colleague Thomas already called them the AC/DC of thrash and with that comparison he isn't far from the truth; you know what to expect from them and they always deliver. Grooving and very addictive catchy thrash with a lot of humor.

With this sunny weather and temperatures rising, there is only one thing to do: grab a beer, put on the new Tankard and relax! 

Fans know enough! Salud, Zum Wohl, or how we say it in my province: Tsjoch!

01. Rapid Fire (A Tyrant's Elegy)
02. A Girl Called Cerveza
03. Witch Hunt
04. Masters of Farces
05. The Metal Lady Boy (feat. Doro)
06. Not One Day Dead (But One Day Mad)
07. Son of A Fridge
08. Fandom at Random
09. Metal Magnolia
10. Running On Fumes
Label: Nuclear Blast GmbH
Distribution: Warner Music (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 24 July, 2012
Website: www.myspace.com/tankard