Steel Engraved
On High Wings We Fly
Style: Power Metal
Release date: 21 September, 2012
Playing time: 50:15

Steel Engraved is a German power metal band that was founded in 2006. They released their debut 'State of Siege' in 2010 and now here is their second album. The band already joined Circle II Circle and Vicious Rumors during their 2010 European tour and in 2011 they supported WASP. 'On Height Wings We Fly' was produced by Geoff Thorpe (Vicious Rumors). If it is a coincidence I don't know, but at times the music of Steel Engraved has similarities with Vicious Rumors.

Vocalist Marco Schober sings in my opinion a little too nasal and with too much vibrato in his voice. If there is a vocalist you can compare him with, it is Blaze Bayley. The music is indeed melodic power metal and both European (German) and US metal influences are implemented. For some reason the album can't trigger me from start to finish. I think that is because the songs are rather average and compared to for example Vicious Rumors they miss the real drive and contagious melody lines.

Nevertheless you can speak about a prosperous second album that will certainly find its way to the fans in the genre.  


01. Desert Uprising
02. Forlorn Empire
03. Dead of Night
04. Solarity Mission
05. Steeler
06. On High Wings We Fly
07. Black Gold
08. Forever Lost
09. Godspeed
10. Pray For Dead

Label: SAOL/H'Art/Zebrulation
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 26 September, 2012