Beyond Space and Time
Style: Symphonic Power metal
Release date: 30 March, 2012
Playing time: 59:32

After releasing an EP in 2003, this Italian band finally releases their full length debut album. Three tracks of that EP can also be heard on this album. In the info they use the term space-metal, but that is a little too narrow to describe their music. They mix symphonic power metal with progressive parts and epic elements.

If you are a fan of Angra I am certain you can appreciate this band too. The vocals of Flavio Caricasole are without a big Italian accent and he even sounds a bit like a mixture of Andre Matos and Eduardo Falaschi. Flavio is a very acceptable vocalist for a power metal band and that makes Stargate an above average power metal band. Surely you can accuse the band for not being original, but how on earth is it possible to be original within the power metal genre?

A long epic track like "The Power Within" has everything in it a good power metal track needs. Variety, threatening parts, Spanish guitars, piano interludes all implemented in a well written and arranged track. With nice riffs and excellent guitar solos, Fabio Varalta shows that he knows what he is doing. The use of the keyboards are all in favor of the song and never get the upper hand. Some bands in this genre sound wimpy, but that can not be said about Stargate. With heavy guitar riffs in the up-tempo song "Age of Aquarius" they underline that.

I can't conclude different than that this Italian band perhaps doesn't make the most original music, but they certainly made a good album. It gave me pleasure listening to from start to finish and that sure is something that doesn't happen for me all the time.



01. The Wonders of Nature
02. Save the World
03. Sands of Time
04. Nothing's Forever
05. Nightspell
06. The Power Within
07. The Dark Rift
08. Age of Aquarius
09. Ground Zero
10. Hysteria
11. Wounded Souls

Label: Crash & Burn Records
Distribution: Crash & Burn Records
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 28 April, 2012