Skunk Anansie
Black Traffic
Style: (Alternative) Rock
Release date: 14 September, 2012
Playing time: 37:56

I hear the regular readers thinking..... why does he review this album. Well, sometimes you have to get out of your comfort zone and listen to other stuff than your normally do. No power, thrash or death metal for me this time, but plain rock. Isn't the expression, variety is the spice of life?

This new album of the smelly spider will not make the same impression on the listeners like their earlier albums did, I couldn't find potential hits like "Weak" or "Hedonism" on it. That doesn't mean that this is a bad album. Being a fan of heavy music, the first song is a nice one for me. 'I Will Break You' starts very heavy for Skunk Anansie standards. Skin sounds angry, but sometimes she tries too much to sound angry in my opinion. Next track "Sad Sad Sad" continues and is a rock song with electronic rhythms and is in my opinion a track that can make it on the radio. In "Spit You Out" the electronic influences continue. "Hope You Get to Meet Your Hero" is a sensitive track in which Skin takes the lead, a serene track with nice strings in it. "I believed in you" makes you want to dance and jump up and down again, a catchy song.

The eleven songs on the album are rather short and to the point and most important, they all vary a lot. Not one song sounds like the other. Exactly at the right moment, the rocky songs are varied by softer tracks like "Our Summer Kills the Sun" for example. In "Drowning" the electronic sounding rhythm and the strings appear again, but just before I start to fall asleep, the glam rock track "Sticky Fingers in Your Honey" wakes me up. To calm down, Skin ends with the ballad "Diving Down".

All in all an alternative rock album that sounds angry at times, sometimes a bit forced maybe, emotional and sad too, but it sounds Skunk Anansie all the way. Not their best, but enjoyable for sure.


01. I Will Break You
02. Sad Sad Sad
03. Spit You Out
04. Hope You Get to Meet Your Hero
05. I Believed in You
06. Satisfied
07. Our Summer Kills the Sun
08. Drowning
09. This is Not a Game
10. Sticky Fingers in Your Honey
11. Diving Down

Label: Boogooyamma Records
Distribution: Playground Music
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 13 October, 2012