Power of Metal.dk Review

Inner Monster Out
Style: Heavy Metal
Release date: 11 May, 2012
Playing time: 45:18

Music from the sunny and hot town Santos in Brazil can be samba, lambada, bossa-nova or it can also be stone hard metal like the metal band Shadowside. This is the third full-length album since 2005 and their curve is pointing straight up after touring as a special guest with some of the biggest arena bands such as WASP, Helloween and Maiden. On 'IMO' they had help from some Swedish experts on this metal piece of art. Guest singers Mikael Stanne (Dark Tranquillity), Björn Strid (Soli Work) and Niklas Isfeldt (Dream Evil) on the title track lifts and widens the track so it feels fresh and alive throughout. The music style is close to: In Flames, Soilwork, Arch Enemy, but with a big difference: Dani Nolden have a vocal strength that plays in a division where few female singers qualify. Amazing. Rough, powerful and at the same time crystal clear in the higher tones.

Together with strong melodies, intensive black guitar strings, doom deep drums and with passionate lyrics they create an album, which should attract lots of new fans in Europe, US who just like me has totally missed out on their earlier albums. I have to give several extra points on the score for the unique singing performance from Dani, because with many of the female fronted metal bands the vocal tone high as a castrated pig and this is really a liberating contribution. Musically, the sound is both melodic, heavy and catchy with brilliant guitar string bending and splendid drumming from Fabio. They deliver rock with a lot of positive energy and a big affection for the music, which rubs off on the reviewer. Nice to see that Sepultura have heirs, who are prepared to continue to drive the Brazilian metal locomotive forward. The big minus is the killing of 'Ace Of Spades'... Overall this is a album in the 'must buy' section. Nice acquaintance from the Brazilians!

Best songs is: 'Inner Monster Out', 'In The name of Love', 'Angel With Horns', 'Habitchual' and 'My Disputed Reality'.

Shadowside: Dani Nolden (Vocals), Raphael Mattos (Guitars), Rocardo Piccolo (Bass) and Fabio Buitvidas (drums).

01. Gag Order
02. Angel With Horns

03. Habitchual

04. In The Name Of Love

05. Inner Monster Out

06. I'm Your Mind
07. My Disputed Reality
08. A Smile Upon Death

09. Whatever Our Fortune

10. A.D.D

11. Waste Of Life
11. Ace Of Spades
Label: Inner Wound Recordings
Distribution: Sound Pollution
Artwork rating: 84/100
Reviewed by: Patrik Skoglund
Date: 13 April, 2012
Website: www.myspace.com/shadowsideband