Seven Kingdoms
The Fire is Mine
Style: Power Metal
Release date: 9 October, 2012
Playing time: 53:00

If I am not mistaken this is the third album of this American band. On the first album the band had a male vocalist and growling vocals. On the second album Sabrina Valentine appeared and her singing was combined with the growling. On this new album the growls are gone and that is the biggest difference. The power metal is most of the times rather fast but fortunately there are 2 or 3 mid-tempo songs for the necessary variation. Sabrina has a clear and nice voice and she leaves opera-like vocals behind. Too many bands use that trick in my opinion.

The tracks have nice melody lines, but sound rather heavy. They do not have a keyboard player, so the songs are really guitar oriented, with thrashy riffs. In the ballad "The Fire is Mine" you hear that Sabrina has a touchy voice too. Just before dozing away, "Kardia" makes an abrupt end to the serene mood. In that track they lean towards speed-metal tempi.

If you want to make a comparison with other bands, you probably could say that a kind of Iced Earth/Blind Guardian/Gamma Ray combination with female vocals makes sense. Another nice pick from Lance and his label.


01. Beyond the Wall
02. After the Fall
03. Forever Brave
04. Flame of Olympus
05. Symphony of Stars
06. The Fire is Mine
07. Kardia
08. Fragile Minds Collapse
09. In the Twisted Twilight
10. A Debt Paid in Steel
11. The King is the North

Label: Nightmare Records
Distribution: Nightmare Records
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 6 October, 2012