Heavy Metal Thunder - Live / "Eagles Over Wacken" DVD
Style: Heavy Metal
Release date: 20 April, 2012
Playing time: --

Son of a Bitch, no I'm not calling you names, but with this name the band started back in 1976. Although they must be of the same importance for metal as Iron Maiden and Judas Priest, they have never received the same credit or popularity. Sure they were and are still successful and they deserve that! Classic albums like 'Wheels of Steel', 'Strong Arm of the Law' and my personal favorite 'The Power and the Glory' should be in everybody's collection. Saxon never stopped releasing albums and with 'Dogs of War', 'Metalhead', 'Killing Ground', 'Lionheart' and also their 2011 release 'Call to Arms' they kept the metal flame alive and showed time after time that they are still very much so on the map.

This new DVD/CD 'Heavy Metal Thunder - Live is an anthology of Saxon's repertoire. Featuring highlights from Saxon's Wacken shows in 2004, 2007 and 2009. I enjoyed watching it, the images are of good quality and fortunately you don't get a new camera view every second like on some other DVD's (Iron Maiden f.e.). That the songs are recorded at 3 different shows is no problem, of course you can see that the stages are different, but the recording quality and performance is about the same.

This DVD pictures the band Saxon for what they have been and what they are: 'Together with Iron Maiden and Judas Priest, the founders of British Heavy Metal!'  I'm not worthy judging and rating a band like this!

If you are going to buy this (and I'm sure you are going to) you can choose 6 different formats:
1. 2CD + DVD containing: DVD Best of W.O.A (2004/2007/2009) + CD: Glasgow Live, April 14th, 2011.
2. DVD Best of W.O.A.  (2004/2007/2009).
3. 2CD W.O.A. 2009 - Fan's Choice Setlist.
4. 3 Vinyl LP 12"Gatefold: W.O.A. 2009 - Fan's Choice Setlist.
5. D2C limited to 1000 copies: Digipack - Best "of" DVD. Containing: DVD - W.O.A. 2009 - Fan's Choice Setlist (full show - video) + DVD - W.O.A. 2007 (full show - video) + DVD - W.O.A. 2004 (full show - video). In 10 boxes are 'Golden Tickets' randomly included, which allows the lucky winners to visit any Saxon concert in any city around the world (festivals excluded).
6. Digital downloads available in various versions.

Below you find just the track listing of the DVD Best of W.O.A. (2004/2007/2009). For the songs on the other formats I advice you to look on the internet. 


01. Battalions of Steel
02. Heavy Metal Thunder
03. Metalhead
04. Let Me Feel Your Power
05. To Hell and Back Again
06. If I Was You
07. Killing Ground
08. Unleash the Beast
09. Dogs of War
10. Rock 'n' Roll Gypsy
11. Travelers in Time
12. The Eagle Has Landed
13. 747 (Strangers in the Night)
14. Dallas 1 p.m. 
15. Witchfinder
16. Solid Ball of Roc
17. 20.000 Feet
18. Red Star Falling
19. Rock the Nations
20. The Power and the Glory
21. Stallions of the Highway
22. Live to Rock
23. And the Bands Played On
24. Princess of the Night
25. I've Got to Rock
26. Attila the Hun
27. Denim and Leather
28. Ashes to Ashes
29. Crusader
30. Wheels of Steel

Label: UDR
Distribution: Playground Music (Scandinavia)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 14 April, 2012