Saturn In Ascension
Style: Doom
Release date: 30 November, 2012
Playing time: 77:05

The Doom kings of Denmark are back! Perfectly timed with the coming of the dark season, Saturnus creates a setting of both beauty and gloom with their fourth full-length album in the twenty-year history of the band, 'Saturn In Ascension'.

For fans of My Dying Bride and ancient Anathema, I'm tempted to say that this album is a must. With a dynamic and warm production by Flemming Rasmussen (Metallica, Morbid Angel), Saturnus shows a certainty of the doom genre and style which few in this country have displayed. Thomas A.G. changes between a brutal growl and atmosphere-filled spoken pieces, the riffs are both crushing and haunting, the use of keyboards is just right and so is the Laurie Ann Haus' contribution to the beautiful acoustic tune A Lonely Passage.

Much like the aforementioned masters of doom, My Dying Bride, Saturnus manage to create a diverse album without ever betraying the genre. They combine doomy slowness with speed, brutality with beauty, piano with metal riffing.

Try the tune Between if nothing else. An eleven+ minute song of epic proportions and easily the centre piece of this release. Welcome back in the ring, Saturnus - I'm looking forward to seeing you live for the first time in just one week from now.

01. Litany Of Rain
02. Wind Torn
03. A Lonely Passage
04. A Fathers Providence
05. Mourning Sun
06. Call Of The Raven Moon
07. Forest Of Insomnia
08. Between
09. Limbs Of Crystal Clear
Label: Cyclone Empire
Promotion: Sure Shot Worx/Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 75/100
Reviewed by: Thomas Nielsen
Date: 26 October, 2012