Power of Metal.dk Review

Clockwork Angels
Style: Progressive Rock
Release date: 8 June, 2012
Playing time: 66:06

Rush has existed on this planet for almost as long as me; they formed in August 1968; I was born in March 1968. And they have been a big part of my years as a progressive rock fan for as long as I have been into this kind of music. "Clockwork Angels" is their studio album number 21 (including the "Feedback" EP) and their first one in five years. The journey towards this album began in April 2010, where the first two songs were recorded ('Caravan' & 'BU2B'), and most fans are most likely familiar with them from their "Time Machine Tour" and/or the live album "Time Machine 2011: Live in Cleveland" release from last year.

Rush fans have it easy; they have been progressing all the time and have still not delivered a bad album. To discuss, which album is their best would be like asking: "which flavor of ice-cream is the best?" Each fan has their own personal relation to this unique band, but I think most will mention "Moving Pictures" as a Top 3 album. One thing we all share is the undying love for every aspect of their art.

But can they still satisfy us and surprise us? Well, yes they can! "Clockwork Angels" is another timeless piece of progressive rock, where they surprise us with two emotional songs: 'The Wreckers' and the monumental album closer 'The Garden' that, to me at least, are right up there with some of the best melodic songs they've ever written. The remaining songs are strong and there's not a weak spot on the album.

The technical level, the production and everything you can think of is off course top notch! Rush is an institution in rock; and they prove why on "Clockwork Angels"; a God-damn fine album!

01. Caravan (5:39)
02. BU2B (5:10)
03. Clockwork Angels (7:31)
04. The Anarchist (6:51)
05. Carnies (4:51)
06. Halo Effect (3:13)
07. Seven Cities of Gold (6:32)
08. The Wreckers (5:01)
09. Headlong Flight (7:20)
10. BU2B2 (1:27)
11. Wish Them Well (5:25)
12. The Garden (6:59)
Label: Roadrunner Records
Distribution: Warner Music (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Kenn Jensen
Date: 22 June, 2012
Website: www.rush.com