Running Wild
Style: Heavy Metal
Release date: 23 April, 2012
Playing time: 51:49

I was very curious about the come back CD of this German pirate-metal band. With 'Under Jolly Roger' and 'Death Or Glory' they delivered albums that I could really appreciate. In the info I read that Rock 'n Rolf Kasparek was proud that he had composed the biggest part of the songs in less than half an hour. After listening to the entire album, I have to advice him to take more time to write good songs.

The songs are for the biggest part very simple rock 'n roll based metal tracks. Not one track makes me very enthusiast. The refrains are simple to sing a long and not interesting enough. With "Sailing Fire" Rolf tries to make a link to the 'Under Jolly Roger' era, but in vain. The drums are very static and the compositions of the songs too simple. Perhaps I sound very negative about this album, but that is because I am disappointed. I am certain that Rolf can do so much better.

Just listen to "Me & the Boys", what a piece of commercial and simple song is that? "Me & the boys, we love that noise, me and the boys we are going crazy, cause rock 'n roll is our choice?" simple can you make your lyrics? Some guitar riffs and parts are nice to listen to, but in general it is all too average and even below that. Only "Riding on the Tide", "Shadowmaker" and "Dracula" are songs that get my appreciation.

If this was the debut album of a young band, I am sure that the ratings of all the magazines would have been very low. Just because of their history and build up credit they are not going to be written completely to pieces... I think, but I am not going to spare them in my rating, it is up to you if you think I'm being too negative...


01. Piece of the Action
02. Riding on the Tide
03. I Am Who I Am
04. Black Shadow
05. Locomotive
06. Me & the Boys
07. Shadowmaker
08. Sailing Fire
09. Into the Black
10. Dracula

Label: Steamhammer/SPV
Distribution: Playground Music (Scandinavia)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 17 April, 2012