Rumpelstiltskin Grinder
Style: Crossover Thrash
Release date: 16 July, 2012
Playing time: 47:30

The band with the easiest name in the genre is back with a new album. Yesterday I reviewed a thrash combo called Predatory Violence and I was not so happy about their music. If I compare this album with theirs, the difference is big. Not only is their style different, but also the quality of the songs.

Opener "Those Who Are Unseen" hammers away in a Kreator/Sodom style, but with an own identity. Vocalist Shawn Riley spits his aggressive vocals towards you in a very angry way. Because of vocals, the similarities with the band Carcass are obvious. When the tempo slows down a bit, the music gets a certain groove ("Iron Jaw"). Vocalist Shawn sings a little lower in that song and it sounds more like melodic death.

On the other hand, it sounds rather melodic too and in the track "Fucking Wild", In Flames influences pass by. One of my favorite tracks is "Cold Haunting Death". After a twin guitar intro, the fast galloping guitar riff carries the song to the end in a Slayer tempo. "Youve Been Had" has a certain hardcore attitude, especially because of the singing style.

This is an album with a combination of thrash, death and hardcore. You can call it crossover if you want. I think that fans of Kreator, Carcass, Sodom, Slayer, The Kandidate but perhaps also Pro-Pain will find a lot of pleasure in listening to this skull crushing piece. 


01. Those Who Are Unseen
02. Ghostmaker
03. Nightworms
04. Fucking Wild
05. Dripping With Venom
06. Cold Haunting Death
07. A Lurking Thief
08. Youve Been Had
09. Iron Jaw
10. Get Out of My Grave/Gigantic Graveyard
11. Run Through the Bastards
12. Desert Goblins

Label: Candlelight Records
Distribution: Plastic Head
Artwork rating: 92/100
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 11 July, 2012