Luca Turilli's Rhapsody
Ascending to Infinity
Style: Orchestral Power Metal
Release date: 22 June, 2012
Playing time: 43:32

Huh, I hear you thinking, what happened to Rhapsody of Fire? Well, they still exist, but Luca left the band last year and here is his first album. I read an interview where Luca stated that there is nothing going on and that he and the members of Rhapsody of Fire are still friends. That can be the truth of course, but didn't the Dutch soccer team want us to believe that too?

The future will let us know. One thing is for sure, both camps wanted to keep the name Rhapsody and in the end the fans are the winner this time. Every fan will be pleased and the album is exactly what you would expect from him. Besides former Rhapsody of Fire bassist Patrice Guers, the band consists of Dominique (guitars), Alex Landenburg (drums) and vocalist Alessandro Conti. The last one almost has the same sound as Fabio Lione and you can hardly hear the difference. The songs are a kind of movie soundtracks; very majestic, symphonic, oriental, neo-classical, orchestral, bombastic and opera-sounding ("Tormento e Passione"). Perhaps the guitars are a little more in front than on the general ROF album, but that can be my own notion.

To make this review not any longer than needed, I leave you with the message that every fan of Rhapsody of Fire will like this new Luca album!


01. Quantum X
02. Ascending to Infinity
03. Dante's Inferno
04. Escalibur
05. Tormento e Passione
06. Dark Fate of Atlantis
07. Luna
08. Clash of Titans
09. Of Michael the Arcangel and Lucifer's Fall

Label: Nuclear Blast
Distribution: Warner Music (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 27 June, 2012